August Meeting – Council Candidates’ Forum – Special Date: 15 August 2012

ARAG, in association with Friends of Erskineville, FLAG Harold Park and Hands Off Glebe , will be hosting a public forum at which a number of Council Candidates, including the Lord Mayor, have agreed to attend.

This Special Meeting will be at:

Wednesday 15th August 2012, commencing at 7 pm
Alexandria Town Hall, 73 Garden Street, Alexandria.

It is important that you arrive well before 7pm to secure your seat and allow us to start promptly at 7pm.

The following Council Candidates will attend:

  • Clover Moore (Clover Moore Independent Team)
  • Irene Doutney (Greens)
  • Linda Scott (Labor)
  • Edward Mandla (Liberal)
  • Angela Vithoulkas (Living Sydney Independent Team)
  • Denis Doherty (Housing Action)

The meeting will begin with all candidates presenting their vision for Sydney, including development and infrastructure, precinct committees and parking.

Questions from the floor will then be taken.

Please join us to be a part of this important community event.

Annual General Meeting

On Wednesday 11th June, ARAG conducted it’s first Annual General Meeting. There were 14 members present to vote, and considering the wet night and State of Origin match, this was an excellent turnout for our first AGM and a valid quorum.

The result of the elections for the Executive Committee is:

 Convenor Ben Aveling
 Co-Convenor Jim Patsouris
Secretary Desley Haas
Treasurer Gary Speechley
Working Groups Vanessa Knight

Additionally, the following members offered their support to assist the committee: Yvonne Cowell, Joy Brooks, Leanne Sedden, Richard Sedden, Eric Jackson.

Additionally, Gary Speechley was elected the Public Officer, the officer responsible for liaison between the Association and NSW Fair Trading.

In addition, the Draft Constitution of the Association was adopted and now appears below as the ARAG Constitution.

ARAG Constitution 2012

It was decided that the results of the election, and adoption of the Constitution would be ratified by the general membership at the July meeting.